Better Vacation Days

Some days, nothing goes right. It’s easy to forget that old cliche that tomorrow is another day. Because it was, tomorrow was another day two days ago and continues being one today. And, boy, was it a good day. Everything seemed to go right. Even the sunburn I accrued feels better than a normal sunburn. 

The day was spent in the water with minimal swimming. The current carried me here and there. I let go of most control and the water swept away most of my stress. Responsibility was left by the shoreside, and I’m better off for it. It was a reminder that I love to swim. It was a reminder that I didn’t think I needed until I had it. Pool season isn’t over yet. We should all get some water time in before it’s too late. 

It’s important to remember that bad days can happen, even on vacation. As I move into the last day of vacation, I’m reminded that I have to take each day by itself. No day will be the same as the last. Tragedy and victory will come and go, replaced by a long line of successors. Some days we need to just relax and take the days as they come. 

Now I’m off to convince my mother that I’m hiding a pair of turtles in my room. 

Leave a Reply

