I Dream of Sleep

If there were ever a way to get through life without doing anything I would probably take it. Mornings like today, where I wound up awake until the wee hours of the morning make me regret getting out of bed. My head is full of a coughing haziness that refuses to move out, and keeps complaining that the basement is a laundry room, because they want to turn it into this super cool bachelor pad just like they saw someone do on Reddit. My mouth feels like the cover of a stereotypical 90’s Christian Rock album. I don’t know if I’ve been sleeping with my mouth open, or drooling all the moisture into a separate dimension, but I’m parched. So parched that I kept waking up in the middle of the night unable to salivate. I got up for water twice. Both times I drank one cup at the faucet then the next cup back at bed. The one I just drank is moistening that filmy lair of dryness that coats your mouth when you get thirsty. I’ve already rubbed the top lair of my lip off.

Today, I’m tired. I want nothing more than to go back to bed. I want to fall back asleep, and do nothing, but before I do that, I need to take the time to catalog the feeling of being tired. This particular instance should be recorded. From the grouchiness, to the slight pain of keeping my eyes open: the rawness of air against tired eyeball, and sore eyelids from working too many reps the day before. The slight stiffness of my neck that begs to meet the pillow, if only for five more minutes, mom. My feet are plodding and heavy with every step I take, but when I go back to bed, I’m sure they’ll be light.

I need to remember this moment. I need to remember this time and place. I need to remember my hair tickling my forehead as my head lolls side to side. Someday, it may come in handy as a point of reference. It may come in useful in my creative writings or being a better reader.

But for nowzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz.

Leave a Reply

